ICOM-US: Board of Directors

ICOM-US is governed by a Board of Directors elected by the committee membership. The list that follows is current as of the annual election held in May 2017.

Co-Chairs 2017-2020

Lonnie G. Bunch, III
Smithsonian Institution
P.O. Box 37012, MRC 016
Washington, DC 20013
Phone: 202-633-1846
[email protected]

Thomas J. Loughman, Ph.D.
Director and CEO
Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art
600 Main Street
Hartford, CT 06103
(860) 838-4169
[email protected]rg
[email protected]

Immediate Past Co-Chairs

Elizabeth Duggal
Deputy Director and Chief Operating Officer Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation
1071 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10128
(212) 423-3688
[email protected]

Kathy Dwyer Southern
Professor, Museum Studies Program
George Washington University
McLean, Virginia 22101
(703) 402-1800 
[email protected]


Jose A. Ortiz
Chief Operating Officer
22-25 Jackson Avenue
Long Island City, NY 11101
(718) 786-7040
[email protected]

Secretary (ex-officio)

Molly Shevlin
Administrative/Membership Coordinator
1000 Potomac Street NW
Suite 108
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 452-1200
[email protected]
[email protected]

Board of Directors

Ruth Berson
Deputy Museum Director, Curatorial Affairs
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
151 Third Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 948-1328
[email protected]

Amy Bornkamp
Sr. Manager of Exhibition
Planning & Partnership
The Field Museum
1400 S. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60605
(312) 665-7404
[email protected]

Virginia M Curry
Doctoral Candidate Interdisciplinary Studies,
Art History/Independent Research Scholar
University of Texas
Flower Mound, TX 75022
(817) 881-6113
[email protected]

Martin Earring

Research Associate
National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institution
4th St. and Independence Ave., SW,
PO Box 37012, MRC 590
Washington, DC, 20013-7012
(202) 807-9088
[email protected]

William U. Eiland
Georgia Museum of Art
90 Carlton Street
Athens, GA 30602-6719
(706) 542-0441
[email protected]

Jay Finney
Chief Marketing Officer
The Peabody Essex Museum
East India Square (161 Essex St)
Salem, Massachusetts 01970
(978) 745-9500
[email protected]

Joanne Sofía Flores
Senior Program Officer for Art
Smithsonian Institution
PO Box 37012
MRC 040
Washington, DC 20013-7012
[email protected]

George Jacob
President & CEO
Embarcadero at Beach Street, Aquarium of the Bay
c/o Pier 39, San Francisco, CA 94133
[email protected]

Lyndel King
Director & Chief Curator
Weisman Art Museum
333 E. River Pkwy
Minneapolis, MN 55455
[email protected]



Cameron Kitchin
Louis and Louise Dieterle Nippert Director
Cincinnati Art Museum
Eden Park
953 Eden Park Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45202
(513) 639-2901
[email protected]

Alejandra Peña
Executive Director
Museo de Arte de Ponce
PO Box 9027
Ponce, PR 00732-9027
(787) 840-1510
[email protected]

Kate Quinn
Director of Exhibitions and Public Programs
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology (Penn Museum)
3260 South Street 
Philadelphia, PA 19106
(215) 898-4019
[email protected]

Daniel Ronan
Owner, Consultant
Resilient Heritage
Chicago, IL 60640
(503) 449-2155
[email protected]

Elizabeth Varner
Adjunct Professor; ADR Neutral 
Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
Washington, DC
(202) 302-1036
[email protected]


W. Richard West, Jr.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Autry National Center of the American West
4700 Western Heritage Way
Los Angeles, CA 90027
(323) 667-2000 ext. 302
[email protected]


Nancy Zinn
Consulting Curator
United States Diplomacy Center Museum, Department of State, Washington, DC
[email protected] 

Deborah Ziska
Johns Hopkins University, Master of Arts in Museum Studies
455 M Street NW
Washington, DC 20001
[email protected]

Members Ex-Officio (according to ICOM-US bylaws)

Diana Pardue (ICOM Executive Council)
Director, Museum Services Division
Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island
Immigration Museum
Liberty Island
New York, NY 10004
(917) 846.2597
[email protected]

Meghan Curran (Chair, International Committee for Marketing and Public Relations- MPR)
SVP Marketing, Guest Experiences and Sales, Shedd Aquarium
1200 S. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60605
(312) 692-3195
[email protected]

Dr. Eric Dorfman (Chair, International Committee for Museums and Collections of Natural History- NATHIST)
Director, Carnegie Museum of Natural History
4400 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
(412) 622-3280
[email protected]

Jean Druesedow (Chair, International Committee for Collections of Costume- COSTUME)
Director, Kent State University Museum
PO Box 5190
Kent, OH 44242-0001
(330) 672-3450
[email protected]

Antonio Rodriguez (Chair, International Committee for Exhibitions and Exchange- ICEE)
Museum Consultant
Potomac, MD 20854
(240) 401-5075
[email protected]

Technical Advisors to the Board (appointed by the co-chairs)

Douglass W. McDonald
Retired, President and Chief Executive Officer
Cincinnati Museum Center and The National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Cincinnati, OH 45244
(513) 708-2000
[email protected]

Sally Yerkovich, (ETHICS)
Director, Institute of Museum Ethics
Seton Hall University
250 South End Avenue, Apt. 9D
New York, NY 10280
(917) 543-1750
[email protected]


ICOM-US Timeline:

2011: ICOM-US became independent from the American Alliance of Museum (AAM), which had been managing ICOM-US.

2012: ICOM-US hired Hauck & Associates, Inc., with offices in Washington, DC, to administer ICOM-US affairs.

2014: ICOM-US finalized new bylaws and was approved as a 501c3 (U.S. nonprofit) organization.

2016: ICOM-US and AAM signed a Memorandum of Understanding, leading to future collaborations.